Chico DUI Lawyer
Call us NOW. Your license can be suspended if you don’t act within TEN DAYS of your DUI arrest.
The Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend your license through a process that’s completely separate from the case in criminal court. If you don’t act within ten days of your DUI arrest, the suspension automatically starts 30 days after your arrest.
Bob will handle the DMV proceedings from start to finish. We contact DMV immediately after a client hires us to request a hearing, where a DMV employee decides whether you were driving with a blood alcohol content over .08%. In the meantime, we request a “stay” so you can continue driving until DMV makes its decision. If DMV rules against you, we can help with options to get you driving again as soon as possible, sometimes the same day.
What is the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Limit in California?
It’s illegal to drive with blood alcohol content over .08% in California. If you’re under 21 or on DUI probation, the “zero tolerance” policy applies and you cannot drive with ANY measurable amount of alcohol in your system (.01% or higher).
Even if your blood alcohol was under the limit, you could still be charged with DUI if the police and District Attorney believe your alcohol consumption impaired your ability to drive safely.
If your blood alcohol content was .15% or higher, you could face additional jail time, a longer DUI school, additional treatment or self-help programs, and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), which is a breath tester that won’t let your car start if it detects alcohol.
Additionally, you can also be charged with a DUI for driving while under the influence of any drug, or a combination of alcohol and drugs.
Bob handles DUI cases involving:
- First, second- and third-offense misdemeanor DUI
- Fourth-offense felony DUI
- Underage DUI
- Prescription drug DUI
- DUI causing injury
- DUI causing death
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Gross vehicular manslaughter
After a DUI arrest, you may feel hopeless, as if there is nothing you can do about it. That is the wrong attitude to take. A thorough investigation into any DUI charge may reveal flaws and inconsistencies that can challenge the prosecution’s case against you. Our skilled Chico DUI lawyer can assess your situation and craft an effective defense to protect your rights and your freedom.
What Are the Penalties for a DUI in California?
Our criminal defense attorney is well-versed in all of the legal strategies that can be used to fight a DUI conviction. We can carefully scrutinize what actually occurred just before, during, and after your arrest. From there, we can analyze those issues and ensure that you receive the excellent legal representation that has earned us a strong reputation in our community.
If convicted, you could face penalties such as:
- License suspension or revocation
- 6 months for a first offense
- 2 years for a second offense
- 3 years for a third offense
- 4 years for a fourth offense
- Jail or prison time
- Up to six months for a 1st offense
- Minimum ten days, up to one year, for a second offense
- Minimum 120 days, up to one year, for a third offense
- Minimum 180 days, up to three years, for a fourth offense
- Heavy fines
- Ranging from $2,000-18,000 depending on the offense
- Ranging from 3-5 years
- DUI school
- May include alcohol education, assessment and treatment.
- Increased auto insurance premiums
- Will vary based on circumstances but may increase by up to 143% or more
- Possible vehicle confiscation
- May be impounded for up to 30 days for a 1st offense
- Will be impounded for 30-90 days for a repeat offender
- Installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device
- Mandatory for a second offense, but may be imposed for a first offense with high blood alcohol.
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?
A DUI will stay on your criminal record for the rest of your life unless you can get it expunged. DUIs remain on your driving record with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for ten years. The ten-year-clock begins ticking the day of your arrest. After the ten years have expired, the DUI will no longer be held against you on your driving record.
Now, let’s say you get another DUI within ten years of the first. Your penalties will increase because you have a “prior DUI” on your record. After ten years, the DUI will no longer be held against you can’t be used to increase the punishment for the current offense and the latest DUI would be treated as a first offense. Even so, your first DUI doesn’t actually disappear from your record completely. Law enforcement and employers will still be able to view the record and some prosecutors will treat you more harshly, even though the prior DUI has timed out.
Your Case is Not Hopeless
Police officers can make mistakes, breathalyzers can malfunction, blood samples can be contaminated, and medical conditions can create false BAC readings. There are countless issues that could invalidate your arrest. Our Chico DUI attorney can advocate on your behalf through a detailed investigation and application of California law.
Case Dismissed Assault With A Deadly Weapon
Reduced to Reckless Driving DUI
Reduced to Reckless Driving DUI
No Charges Filed Elderly Abuse
He took his time over the last 7 months discovering evidence and I owe my freedom to this man. He made calls to me on HIS time, and helped make sure I did everything I needed to do.- Anthony
Retained Mr Marshall this year, and find that he has done all I asked regarding my case. Mr Marshall is attentive and will fight like a bulldog and I know for a fact that he is only concerned for his client and justice.- Darrin
I never even had to go to court on the case. He's very honest and explains things in a way that I can understand.- Tony
At the end of the experience, we were very pleased with the outcome and attorney service.- Anonymous